A Friday amusement for telephone fundraisers

We’ve come to the end of our Autumn telephone campaign at Leeds and as some of my friends and colleagues know it’s been the tradition over the last 5 years that I perform a song, sometimes written by the callers and sometimes by me, where all the lyrics are changed to be about fundraising and the things we get up to in a call room.

I’m quite pleased with my latest effort, so I thought I’d share the finished version, which I’ll be singing tonight.

Here’s a reworking of the Robbie Williams classic ‘Angels’ – ‘Engaged Calls’:

I sit and wait
Does the supervisor contemplate my fate?
And do they know
The websites where we go
When the data’s old?
‘Cos I’ve been told
That they can watch us while their games unfold
But when my headset’s on my head
And my story cards I’ve read
And my engagement’s in my head
I get engaged calls instead.

And through it all
They offer me confection
To help me deal with rejection
When the shift is long

I make another call
Wherever it may take me
I hope my headset won’t break and
When I get a callback for a PDD
I get engaged calls instead

When it’s a weekend shift
And my 3 ask technique needs a lift
I look above
And I know I can get a one to one
And as the laser maze game goes
I get rewards of Haribos
And when my headset’s on my head
I get engaged calls instead

[Chorus]

And through it all
They offer me confection
To help me deal with rejection
When the shift is long

I make another call
Wherever it may take me
I hope my headset won’t break and
When I get a callback for a PDD
I get engaged calls instead

Merry Christmas everyone and a very happy New Year 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

