Another charity disappointment…

I blogged about my phone experience with Greenpeace recently, and now have had a disappointing online experience with another charity of which I’m very fond – the NSPCC.

What I’ve always liked about the NSPCC’s website is that they have this little drop-down box on the right where you can tell them who you are, and get a tailored experience:

Screen Shot 2013-07-24 at 00.09.29

There was a nice ‘MyNSPCC’ section where, as a regular donor, I could login and check my payments and get some tailored news. I thought I’d go and have another look, and get some inspiration for how we could look after our own donors better online.

But today, I clicked on that ‘Go’ button, and got this:

Screen Shot 2013-07-24 at 00.10.05

‘MyNSPCC’ is no longer available. Just that blunt statement.

Now, I guess that the number of people logging into that section was probably very low. That might have something to do with the fact that it was never advertised to supporters!

No little section at the top of every email to regular donors inviting us to log in and see something new, no story that would entice us there.

If it’s not feasible to maintain, that’s fine I understand. But come on NSPCC, you can do better than this, surely – the donors’ equivalent of a ‘404 error’ page? How about if a new regular donor comes on and clicks that button? That’s going to be their first experience of how they’re valued?

How about taking us to a page that gives us the same basic message, but shows us some latest news about how our gifts are helping? A photo or two? A letter from a care worker?

Here I am – a regular donor, one of the people who is supposedly doing a significant thing to help provide 90% of the income the NSPCC relies on, and I have had a door slammed in my face.

I feel like I am having to be very forgiving this month. Is there anyone online showing their donors they care about them? Please tell me that you are…

Leave a comment

Filed under Fundraising, Online fundraising

Leave a Reply

